Film stills: Rosemary’s Baby (1968)

28 Jan

Rosemary’s Baby is a 1968 American horror film written and directed by Roman Polanski, based on the bestselling 1967 novel Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin. The cast includes Mia Farrow, John Cassavetes, Ruth Gordon, Maurice Evans, Sidney Blackmer, and Charles Grodin.
Farrow plays a pregnant woman who fears that her husband may have made a pact with their eccentric neighbours, believing he may have promised them the child to be used as a human sacrifice in their occult rituals in exchange for success in his acting career. The film was an enormous commercial success, earning over $33 million in the US on a modest budget of $2.3 million.

Rosemary’s Baby is my favourite horror movie, I love it. I think Polanski is a really great director, and this is definitely one of his best, next to Chinatown (1974). Given the fact that I’m a huge Woody Allen fan, I like Mia Farrow, I don’t love her like I love Diane Keaton, but I do like her, she’s alright, especially as Rosemary. I’m a rather big fan of John Cassavetes as well, so I truly enjoy his performance in the film. Ruth Gordon is fantastic as usual. Anyway, to me, there’s nothing wrong with it, it’s perfect and if you don’t like it, it’s because you were either expecting something too serious or something gory.

Leave a Reply

