Film stills: Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid (1969)

27 Jan

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid is a 1969 American Western film directed by George Roy Hill and written by William Goldman (who won the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for the film). Based loosely on fact, the film tells the story of Wild West outlaws Robert LeRoy Parker, known to history as Butch Cassidy (Paul Newman) and his partner Harry Longabaugh, the “Sundance Kid” (Robert Redford) as they migrate to Bolivia while on the run from the law in search of a more successful criminal career. In 2003, the film was selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry by the Library of Congress as being “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”.

This is another one of my favourite films, cinematography-wise. It’s definitely a beautiful piece of work and a brilliant movie, besides I’m not a big fan of Westerns, so Butch Cassidy… is probably the only one I like. I love Paul Newman and Robert Redford, although I do prefer The Sting (1973), but they have so much chemistry and it’s great fun to watch them together. I’ve only seen Katharine Ross three times (The Graduate, Butch Cassidy… and The Stepford Wives), but I like her, she’s very beautiful and quite a decent actress. George Roy Hill’s a wonderful director, and I think everyone should take a look at Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid. Oh, by the way, the entire bicycle scene is my favourite scene from any film, I adore watching it.

Leave a Reply

