Robert Redford

15 Dec

Charles Robert Redford, Jr. (born August 18, 1936), better known as Robert Redford, is an American actor, film director, producer, businessman, environmentalist, philanthropist, and founder of the Sundance Film Festival. He has received two Oscars: one in 1981 for directing Ordinary People, and one for Lifetime Achievement in 2002. He’s one of America’s most popular actors, starring in a string of successful films since the late 1960’s and so on.

The first time I watched Robert Redford, I didn’t like him. The second and the third, I still didn’t like him at all, but as time went by, he grew on me quite a lot. Let’s be absolutely honest for one second, someone who looks the way Redford does can’t be disliked for too long. Beyond his extremely good looks and irresistible charm, he is a rather good actor. No, I don’t think he is amazing as an actor and I don’t believe he deserves an Oscar for his acting, but he is very watchable and after you’ve seen him a few times you really like him. I’d see a film simply due the fact that Robert Redford stars in it, I do, and most of the time I don’t regret it, in fact, his films are fantastic (the ones I didn’t like are The Way We Were and The Great Gatsby). Then, when it comes to Robert Redford the person -or his public persona, since I don’t know him personally- you have this terribly nice guy who comes across as somebody you’d like to hang out with, and he’s the founder of The Sundance Film Festival, which is quite incredible. Anyhow, this afternoon I watched All The President’s Men (1976), starring another one of my favourite actors, Dustin Hoffman, and I really enjoyed it, therefore I decided to make this post. These are all the Redford movies I’ve seen so far: This Property Is Condemned(1966), Barefoot In The Park (1967), Butch Cassidy And The Sundance Kid (1969), The Sting (1973), The Way We Were (1973), The Great Gatsby (1974), Three Days Of The Condor (1975), All The President’s Men (1976), The Electric Horseman (1979) and Legal Eagles (1986).  

By the way, I know this has nothing to do with Redford, but my next post will be about Cary Grant!

With friend Natalie Wood.

Next to daughter Shauna.

Directing Mary Tyler Moore.

With co-star and friend Paul Newman.

Redford and Dustin Hoffman.

With Paul Newman and George Roy Hill.

With co-star Barbra Streisand.

With Scarlett Johansson.

With Katharine Ross and Paul Newman.

With his mother.

With Lena Olin.

Next to Susan Sarandon.

Laughing with Paul Newman and George Roy Hill.

Giving directions to Timothy Hutton.

Sydney Pollack, Barbra Streisand and Redford.

With director Sydney Pollack.

Leave a Reply

