Jeepers, creepers, where’d ya get them peepers.

16 Oct

A couple of weeks ago, I watched The Day Of The Locust (1975) for the first time. I didn’t expect too much of it, simply a decent film, although I knew it couldn’t be bad, since it was directed by John Schlesinger. I was wrong, it isn’t merely a nice film, it’s a masterpiece. Few movies have left me in such state, the ending is one of the most shocking things I’ve ever seen in my life, and I do mean it in a good way. All the performances are incredible, Karen Black may not be the most beautiful woman nor the greatest actress, but she’s absolutely captivating as Faye, Donald Sutherland is wonderful as always, William Atherton surprised me quite a lot in what I consider his best role and Burgess Meredith, well… he is Burgess Meredith, he never delivered a bad performance in his entire career. John Barry gives us a terrific soundtrack to accompany the motion picture. I’d love to write a full review of the film, but I’m not very good at it, although I will try it with another movie soon. Anyhow, the main reason of this post is to share a bunch of beautiful captures from The Day Of The Locust. I warn you, the pictures might spoil the end if you haven’t seen it. Click to enlarge.

Leave a Reply

