Milton Greene, my favourite photographer.

18 Aug

Milton H. Greene (March 14, 1922 in New York City – August 8, 1985 in Los Angeles) was a fashion and celebrity photographer. He was active for over four decades. He is best known for the photoshoots he did with Marilyn Monroe.

Milton Greene is my absolute favourite photographer, as the title says. There’s somthing about his pictures, the colors, the clothes, the light, they always look flawless. I believe my favourite photographer used to be Richard Avedon, but one day I discovered who was the man who took those beautiful photos of Marilyn, and I fell in love with all his work. Well, here it is, my Milton Greene appreciation post.

“One of the things that makes him such an artist is his sensitivity, his sense of introspection. It was the first time I didn’t have to pose. He gave me time to think, but his camera was constantly working away.” -Marilyn Monroe.

Marilyn, Marlene and Milton.

Milton & Marilyn

Photographing Marilyn.

Catherine Deneuve

Ava

Faye Dunaway

Marlene Dietrich

Leave a Reply

