Fame if you win it comes and goes in a minute, where’s the real stuff in life to cling to?

18 Jul

Dreams. To my friends and family, my addiction to daydreaming is not something new, I’ve had a huge imagination since I was child, and I still do. Here’s a list of  the 25 things I’d love to do someday, my dreams:

1. Star in a Woody Allen movie.

I used to dislike Woody Allen when I was younger, but now I adore him and everything he does. I suppose it has to do with the fact that now I’m more mature. The turth is that I would give anything to star in his movies, be a Diane Keaton.

2. Be part of a Fellini film.

Ah, those characters! That odd glamour, that bizarre and unusual world. Who wouldn’t want to be part of a Fellini film? I’m certain it must be a fantastic experience. I watched a documentary about this incredible director, and everything the actors said, especially Anouk Aimee, made me want to jump right into the screen and become a part of 8 1/2 or La Dolce Vita.

3. Be a muse.

Like Anna Karina was to Godard, Liv Ullmann to Bergman, Diane Keaton to Allen, Penélope Cruz to Almodóvar. I think it must be quite exciting being the muse of a genius, although I’m probably romanticizing the whole thing. I’m always wishing that someday, while I’m at the supermarket, at the coffee shop or at the shopping centre, a man (writer, photographer, film maker) will notice me and base all his heroines on me.

4. Dance with Fred Astaire.

I love Fred Astaire with every inch of my heart. To me, he was the greatest dancer to ever appear on film. All his moves were perfect, every dance sequence he made was perfect, and he was completely adorable, especially when he teamed up with Ginger. I could never have such class, but I’m sure anything can happen when you’re dancing with Fred.

5. Write a novel.

I’m currently trying to do that, actually, but I’m a perfectionist, so it’s not such an easy task for me. Truman Capote (photo) is one of my favourite writers, although I haven’t read enough books to truly know if he’s my favourite. Writing is one of my biggest hobbies, I’ve written several short stories, mostly for school. I think of it as a way of putting my dreams somewhere, instead of keeping them inside my head.

6. Play Sally Bowles on Broadway.

Right now, my favourite film is Cabaret. Every time I watch it, I find myself in awe of it, of the performances, the songs, and if I get to do something on Broadway, which I don’t think will ever happen, I’d love to play Sally Bowles. Liza Minnelli did a wonderful job as Sally, the best, I believe.

7. Win a Tony Award.

Scarlett Johansson and Catherine Z Jones

 At times, I think I want to perform in the theater rather than in movies. The whole idea of it sounds so exciting, so thrilling! I dream my days away picturing myself playing the greatest characters on the stage, and of course, why not also picture myself winning a Tony?

8. Learn to speak French.

Well, compared to all the other things, this seems ridiculously easy and perhaps it is. I’m thinking about taking a few courses when I get some free time, maybe then I’ll see what I can do about this dream. French just sounds so poetic and romantic.

9. Become a film historian.

The men you see here are the amazing Peter Bogdanovich and Boris Karloff. Bogdanovich is one of America’s most popular directors, but he’s also a film critic and film historian. I’m reading Who The Hell’s In It?, one of his books, and I must say it’s swell, I love the fact he’s met all these legendary people and knows so much about cinema.

10. Direct a beautiful film of my own.

As you can see, I’m quite an ambitious teenager! I probably won’t be able to do half of these things, but I’m still hoping. I can’t imagine how one feels after watching a film of his own at the cinema, it must be a unique feeling. Here’s a picture of one of my many favourite directors, Martin Scorsese.

11. Work with Bob Fosse in any kind of project.

Bob Fosse has become one of my idols. His talent was breathtaking, and although he only made five films, it’s remarkable the impact he’s had on pop culture. Sweet Charity, Cabaret, Lenny, All That Jazz and Star 80, all masterpieces. If it were possible, I’d do anything with Bob Fosse, just for the pleasure of working with him.

12. Be the heroine in a Hitchcock picture.

Naturally, I’m not half as beautiful and classy as all the ladies who had the luck of playing Hitchcock heroines, but still, I’d be delighted to. Here’s a photo of Ingrid Bergman and Hitchcock (taken in 1948), whom I love together. Who knows? Maybe there’s a Rear Window set in heaven waiting for me.

13. Befriend Charlie Chaplin, Douglas Fairbanks and Mary Pickford.

I love seeing pictures of them together or hearing stories, they were such good friends. I read in various places that Doug and Mary gave the most wonderful parties at their beloved Pickfair, it would’ve been amazing to be there, don’t you think? Besides, Charlie Chaplin was one of the most incredible people ever.

14. Read numerous books.

Most of the time, when I’m with my friends and family, I pretend to be a little more intellectual than what I really am. I’m dying to read more books, but I get bored very easily, although I’m working on it. I borrowed a bunch of books from my mother, and I’m currently reading Liv Ullmann’s autobiography, which I find lovely.

15. Be a flapper in the 1920’s.

Ugh, I find flappers so glamorous and fabulous! Their style was marvelous, the way they behaved, the way they danced and talked, just amazing. Here’s a picture of Joan Crawford before becoming a big star, looking absolutely beautiful.

16. Learn to cook.

I’m a terrible cook, I can’t even make a decent looking toast! I’m sure you feel great after making a delicious dinner, well, maybe not great, but at least good. Anyway, I think it would be nice being able to cook something.

17. Have a relationship like Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward’s.

They are absolutely my favourite couple! I adore Paul Newman, but Joanne Woodward has managed to make me like her, she’s charming. I know they had their lows, but they always remained together until the end, it’s extremely sweet and admirable.

18. Record an album with Tom Waits.

Tom Waits it’s not my favourite artists, in fact, there are a lot I prefer before him, but I don’t know, somehow I’d love to record an album with him. He has an incredible voice, and The Heart Of Saturday Night is one of the best records I’ve ever heard, it’s beautiful.

19. Do a duet with Frank Sinatra.

I love Frank Sinatra, I can’t help it. I don’t understand why so many people dislike him or think of him as a joke, he was the real thing, an amazing entertainer! He never fails to make me feel good and safe, maybe because he reminds me of my dear grandfather.

20. Travel around the world.

My older sister has already traveled to Europe, and so has my aunt, but I’m still too young, I guess. Next year I’ll be fifteen, and I might be able to convince my parents of taking me to London. I live in Argentina, and I’ve never been out of the country, which upsets me a great deal, because I’m dying to travel! Here’s a photo of the divine Beatles.

21. Be the guest star in a Friend’s episode.

Friends is my all time favourite TV show! It’s almost impossible to explain how much I heart it. I own every season and I’ve seen them a thousand times. I definitely would love to star in, at least, one episode.

22. Wear a dress created by Edith Head.

Edith Head has dressed a huge part of my favourite actresses, which is absolutely amazing. Her dresses are beautiful and she always made them and the ladies in them look nothing but perfect. Just take a look at that gown Grace Kelly’s wearing in the photo, it’s dreamy!

23. Study at the Actors Studio.

This is probably one of the things I long for the most, to study at the Actors Studio. I shiver every time I hear someone say that name, it’s simply amazing how many of my idols went there and became what they are today. Here’s a beautiful picture of Marilyn at the Actors Studio.

24. Act with Al Pacino, Robert De Niro and James Caan in a mafia movie.

These three actors are amazing, and I don’t think it’s fair to treat James Caan as such an underrated actor. Starring in a mob movie with these guys would be the ultimate fantasy of, I think, every women. And if Joe Pesci’s in it, even better, bring it.

25. Live as a groupie in the early 1970s.

I used to be completely obsessed with groupies, you can’t imagine! I still love these women, especially Pamela Des Barres (photo). I read her book I’m With The Band last year and I was in awe of that amazing world, that fascinating life she lead when she was young. I think all these girls deserve respect.

Leave a Reply

